The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Some Sanity Check questions

Luckbox

affiliate
Hey all,

I'm new to affiliate marketing and I'm somewhat overwhelmed by the various tools and services offered. What I wanted was to share my plan of what I wanted to do and my goals over the next 6 months and get a sense of what is possible and what isn't possible.

Right now, I'm trying to keep things simple. I can add to the business model as I learn and understand things. I have picked a niche, and I have obtained both .com and .co.uk domain names that I think are ok (I have zero clue, but if it all goes wrong I will do a review of what I did wrong). Here's my plan.

Jul 1 - Sept 30 (Drive traffic to blog - organically)
Write a couple of blog posts a day in my niche. Possibly release one a day and keep a stock of back up posts for when I take days off (inevitable as I'm a Ph.D student).
There will be affiliate links in the posts, mainly amazon affiliates but will start to research other relevant affiliate offers.
Learn SEO.
My primary metric is visitors to the sites.
My secondary metric is speed of the sites.

Oct 1 - Dec 30 (Monetize gently)
I should, at this point, have a stock of blog posts available. I will still write the majority of posts but at this point, depending on where I am, I can test other writers perhaps.
Depending on where I am with traffic to my site, I might investigate the use of social media to channel traffic to my sites, maybe with paid ads.
My primary metric will still be visitors to my sites.
My secondary metric will be sales.
My tertiary metric will be how high my pages rank on google.