The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“AdsEmpire”/  Direct Affiliate

Building a website headaches

ArizonaJay

<b>5 Star Moderator</b>
affiliate
As my other thread explains, I am having second thoughts about continuing my original plan to sell information products. Alternatively, there ARE products and merchants in a lot of affiliate programs that I KNOW are good quality and high value products. I've no hesitation being affiliated with them, and in fact, might feel pretty good about selling some of this stuff.

However, my background is accounting, business management/administration and marketing/sales. That provides a great deal of knowledge that IS very valuable for a potential affiliate marketer, but not at all helpful when it comes to building a website. And my original idea was to keep this fairly low maitanence and highly automated - set it and forget it. I've learned that ain't realistic, but I don't want to be handcuffed to the keyboard either. (If I wanted that, I'd buy the inventory, sell it, ship it myself and make a bigger profit margin. Been there, done that, now I have far too many other interests to do it again.)

It's the build a website stuff that seems to have me stuck. I'm struggling with WP which gives you an idea of the extent of my technical incompetence. The idea of trying to figure out popshops or Golden Can gives me a migraine. I'm confident that I'm not entirely clueless about niche and keyword research, SEO techniques, definition of good content, and I can write well enough. But I'm stuck on actually building and desiging a website - just learning how to upload a photo took me an hour. I still haven't figured out how to get the text to wrap around the photo in a blog post (but I will).