The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  Direct Affiliate

Digital Marketer|CPA Beginner | First CPA Results

Even if you knew everything about PPC, Social Media, SEO, blogging, A/B testing, Analytics, and tracking, when it comes to CPA, I consider myself a complete beginner.

I've made some affiliate sales in the past (CPS, on pure commissions) as a part of my consulting and because of persistent blogging and a strong social media presence.

CPA, however, is new. While I already signed up with Maxbounty (afflink) and Peerfly (afflink) a long time ago, I never really got started until this month.

Initial Setup This Month

Testing Budget: $175 USD
Tracker: FunnelFlux.com
VPS from Vultr (signup with this afflink and get $20 credit -- like free VPS for 2 months, and they are the best at the cheapest possible rates, even faster than AWS and Backspace)
Aff networks: Peerfly and Maxbounty
Traffic Sources: Not to be revealed.

I didn't even setup the tracker first. I went ahead and did direct linking on an mDSP and I got tons of traffic but zero conversions.

So, I picked up an offer a simple email submit offer from peerfly, setup dedicated landing pages with two versions (A & B, for testing), and let the traffic come in.

Unfortunately, I already ran out of my budget by the end of last week (down to $165 from $175) because of all the testing and sending traffic to offers that didn't work.

I did a couple of mistakes:

I didn't bother to check what the offer was really like. Some offers just don't work with some traffic sources.

A few of my blunders, as I see it:

• Long form email submits don't work on mobile
  • If the offer was for United States, I send traffic to Australia.
  • I promoted an iOS only mobile CPI offer to both Android and iOS.
  • Never used tracking.
Silly me :p

Humble start

Ignore the bulk of that traffic since it was all bot traffic I knew I was getting 2 days before, those are monthly stats.