The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  Direct Affiliate

Rakuten account terminated - possible to reverse?

sarahw1979

affiliate
Hi everyone,

I am newbie to affiliate marketing. I signed up to Rakuten to see which programs they offered. I am in the process of building my site but it asked me to provide the URL so although it isn't finished AND didn't have any affiliate links on it yet, I shared my URL as I thought I wouldn't be accepted without having a website. Today I have received an email saying my account with Rakuten has been terminated for not meeting FTC guideline. I have sent them an email explaining it didn't have ANY links on it yet and it would be compliant before publishing any links. I have now unpublished the site till it is ready. As a beginner I have obviously made the mistake of publishing the site before it is legally ready. My questions are:

1) Is it likely Rakuten will reconsider terminating me after hearing there weren't any affiliate links on the site and that the relevant disclosures were going to added before publishing the links?
2) If not, how can I successfully register with Rakuten again? Will I need to pay for a new URL or am I simply terminated as an individual and I now cannot register with them? This would be a real shame as they offer a lot of programs I would like to join.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Sarah

Last edited:
WELCOME ABOARD ...
thumbsup.png

━━━●──────────────
That's really the 'what came first conundrum': The chicken or the egg?

Trying to SEO a website and establish a traffic pattern today takes at least 6 months or a long as forever --depending on your efforts, knowledge of your content's subject --either by experience or empirical research results; and yes, Just Plain Luck and Timing.

What is the point of all that work when you have no way to monetize your effort?

Buy traffic to test your offer or presentation website, blog, other