The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Is PPC the best way to get started in Affiliate Marketing?

jzapin

affiliate
I've been dabbling with Affiliate Marketing for the last 5 years. I have tried various methods but always come back to PPC as my method.

The reason? It is quick and gives you some results albeit not terribly great. I have a full time job and a family and little time to really spend quality time building sites and a strategy around it.

I've also read some gurus who say the best way to break in is to do PPC first. Create several PPC campaings a month (i.e. 4+). You'll end up having a lot of misses, but eventually you'll hit a winner that will outweigh all the losses.

What do you think?

Yes, that approach works and many people have broken into the affiliate business starting with PPC.. to this day.

But it sounds like to me you are looking for something that doesn't take a lot of time and effort; that's where you'll run into a problem with PPC.. because, like most things that work, it takes time, effort and commitment (it's not a business startup for the lazy)..

..it also takes a shift in thinking - a psychological leap of faith that some are better at than others. It's not an easy thing for some people to understand, much less execute, the numbers game model. That you'll need to go through 'x' number of losers to get 'x' number of winners.

It's just like being in sales.. you have to get used to the no's to get to the yes's... and not mind the no's because you know each brings you one step closer to the sale (assuming you have a solid, proven system you are following).

Good luck with your decision and business!

I agree with Matt, plus with some of the PPC guys you've listened to. PPC CAN be a good way to get started, but it's also really hard especially with all of Google's recent changes. You'll find there are several schools of thought and several methods people swear are the best.