The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

how big should my pages be???

W

wiccanwonder

Im new to webdesign

Im trying to create a basic looking site consisting of a homepage and 3 other pages linking from it.
At the moment the pages are empty apart from a simple navigation bar that appears on each page and each page's background is an image that is used as a tile effect.
I have broadband and my pages load quickly when I open them but I tried to access them on someone elses PC that used a dial up connection and they were incredibly slow but I thought it might be down to their PC being old...
Also I used FrontPage to publish them and all the pages are listed as slow, one taking as much as 2 1/2 minutes to load.

How do I make my pages faster considering there is no content yet added?

Is there a 'size' that is normally used as a gauge?

Id appreciate any reply. Thanks.

The total size of the files needed to display a document, (or weight) is the most important, but not the only aspect that influences download speed. There are other variables that need to be considered:
:arrow: Bandwidth (of course), both user's and server's.
:arrow: Location - the closer the server is to the user, the less routing is involved, reducing the time it takes for packages to reach their destination.
:arrow: Performance - requests take longer to process on slow servers (obvious for dynamic pages) and pages are saved and redered slower locally on very slow computers. This should not be a problem these days, but you do need to think about it.
For and average size, I really don't know what to say. Connections are getting faster and faster as the Internet evolves. Here are 2 examples:
140 KB on Macromedia's index page
200 KB on 2AdvancedNet's (the hosting branch of 2A) index page