The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

A Complete Idiots Attempt at Media Buys

MrSmith

Hi,

Background

I am a complete Newbie but have read a few threads but I really only learn by doing it myself. The only threads I pay attention to are other journeys/case studies as they generally show where things go wrong rather than a tutorial on something that in theory should work. I prefer the real world examples.

So keeping in mind I have absolutely no experience I will make many mistakes and hopefully learn a few things. My budget isn't great but around $5-$10 per day but there is no use risking lots of money if I don't know what I am doing.

So here are a few things I have done :

1. Found a few offers worth promoting. I picked 2 offers to test. But have a few others as options if necessary.
2. Picked tracking software and set it up.
3. Created a few simple banners. I have created 3 main banners which vary in colour, images and wording. The variations on these add up to 11 banners in total. I am only testing 3 banners to start with which are vastly different and then will split test the variations of those banners.
4. Decided on a traffic source which is going to be direct media buys of ads on websites.
5. Purchased a banner ad space at the top of a forum cheaply.

Actions to still do:
1. More research into sites. I need to determine what to keep, what is important, etc.
2. Buy more ads to do more testing.

My approach
So while I am a total newbie at all of this I am very logical in my approach to the numbers. I love to delve into the numbers and find angles to use.

So here is the logical way I have approached this:

Offer 1 : Payout is $9.95 per sale (PPS).
It says it has a coversation rate of 9%. That means I should make a sale approx every 12 people. To test this properly I would need to send at least 3-4 times that amount of people to the offer which would be about 48 clicks so lets call it 50 clicks.