The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Which Monetization Model Should I Use?

tw0manyhats

First off, this is my first post, hi everyone!

I have been learning internet marketing for approximately 4 months now and I am at a crossroads. I have of course done a lot of things wrong and well, I have a surpluss of domain names sitting idle that I really need to do something with. I have 3 different domains that I was thinking about monetizing differently.

1. This is a hobby site that I was thinking about hosting with citymax. I was going to find offshore sourcing for small electric motors for hobby enthusiasts and utilize drop shipping. E-commerce site of course.

2. This would be an advice site where each subdomain would cater to a different market so I wouldn't need to register a boatload of domains. I wasnt sure how the search engines would like the diversity though. I was going to classify this as a trusted review site with multiple subdomain niches.

3. "Things" being related to multiple industries with subniches people can comment on as to why they would avoid them. I figured that it might be nice to let commenters create a lot of the content for me even adding subniches that I didnt think of. I guess this would end up being a blog/maybe part trusted review site.

I am just trying to shoot for the point of least resistance so I can see the fruits of my time invested sooner than later. If I see something that actually works I'll have motivation to keep going. I tried the Adwords thing and that was a disaster...oh well I know I'm not the only "sucker":)

Sorry for the long post and any advice would be appreciated.

Hi tw0manyhats,

Welcome to 5 Star.

I really feel strongly that the best and easiest way to get started is to focus on ONE site and one very carefully selected niche - one that's not too competitive.