The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  MyBid

Questions regarding affiliate marketing from Rutgers NJ

kuraykillua

affiliate
Hello everyone.
I'm a Rutgers Psychology student who's interested in Affiliate Marketing. I've started a while ago using Google Adwords, and right now all my campaigns are paused because I'm down 28$, with practically no leads or sales.
From the interesting information I've read here, I see that it is better to research what could potentially sell, then search for an affiliate program to sell such products/services. From what I've been doing, I joined CJ and CB which was recommended by several people who were quite successful, and apparently that wasn't such a good idea. I would like to know if this is correct.
Also I've read that ebooks aren't the best place to get information on affiliate marketing (or similar).
I also read some of the things in the newbie section, and honestly I'd say it was just information overload. I can tell some of the things are definitely useful but I can't decide where to start. Any suggestions?
So basically my questions are:
1, Is it true that it is a bad idea for an inexperienced online marketeers to start with CJ or CB? (I know CB is having lots of problems)
2, Is it a good idea to start with Google Adwords?
3, Is it a better idea to start with searching potential products/services than joining an affiliate program first then trying to sell?
4, How long did it take you (whoever is reading) to start earning (say 50$ a day) and how much did you lose/invest in order to get to that point?
5, This is random but on a scale of 1 to 10 how thrilled were you when you finally hit your target?

Thanks, and I think that I will be reading things from this forum for quite a while.
-k

You may find when you ask that many questions you won't get answers because we could write a BOOK about each question and it's just too overwhelming to try to answe them all at one time.