The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Onsite engagement partner - deduping PPC?

doodle

affiliate
Hello, relative newbie here! Im looking at adding a on-site engagement platform to my programme on awin. Using panels to re-engage users who show exit intent. This partner can de-dupe against other affiliate traffic which is great but just wondered if anyone else works with similar partners and also de-dupe against PPC traffic? thanks :)

de-dupe against PPC traffic

AWIN has exceptions to their recommendations for de-duping. This is a controversial topic and there are as many arguments for doing it as there are for not doing it.

There are benefits on both sides of the argument.

Never heard that term ROFLMAO

Industry Standard
The generally agreed ‘best method’, and one that’s been used for years by big merchants who are
paying to be on multi-platforms, not just affiliate networks but PPC, CPM, Yahoo and countless other
places is to set a local cookie. The local cookie, which is just a normal cookie, stores the name or
reference to the network/advert which last referred the customer to the site. Your order/checkout
systems can then read this local cookie and show the tracking code for that network or advert
campaign.
A local cookie (if set-up correctly) will be as reliable as the network cookie and will mean you will
be able to spend money on other campaigns such as PPC, CPM and so on while only ever paying
commission to the source responsible for the final sale/lead.

This is not dated??? may be old

Cookies are the biggest scam going today. I delete mine when I close the browser session with the exception of a few trusted websites I log into a lot.

We named this 'phenomena' referral or member slippage
Not much can be realistically done now in this situation unless the referred or their customer's attributes are known, e.g,:

An IP address​
+ an email​
+ a registration with a password and recovery phrase​