The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  Direct Affiliate

Newbie needs advice on whole affiliate thing

Fall-down

I am very new to this whole affiliate thing! I have found 5 products to sell and need advice about how to set things up. I want to build these sites with 5 to 10 pages of content around each product.

My question!
Which is better 5 different sites with 5 different domain names or 1 site using a good domain name, for one of the products. Then setting up 4 sub-domains for the other products. Because my funds are limited.

How about using free web hosting for some of these sites, and just buying a domain name for that free site.

Looking for idea and tips for the best way to start?

Free web hosting is a terrible idea. I personally turn down affiliates who try to sign up for the programs I manage if they are using a free site. If you do a search for cheap web hosting, I am sure you will come up with several sources, I do know that Ebay has auctions for cheap hosting. I just would advice against free web hosting sites.

The best way to succeed with affiliate programs is to choose your topic BEFORE you choose the product.

If you think about it, the super affiliates out here that are making good money, have websites with their own domain, (not free sites) with a lot of information centered around one theme. Then they find affiliate programs to weave into their site that compliment their topic.

Search engines love sites with a lot of content. You should be aiming for 50 or even 100 pages for the long term. That's why it's better to build a site on a topic or passion you have FIRST rather than finding a product and then building the site afterwards. That's actually backwards. (Trust me, I did it way back when and it didn't work.)