The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  Direct Affiliate

New to affiliates. Added a 70% commission for my site. Thoughts / Advice?

Voodoomoodoo

affiliate
Hello - this is my first post :)

A couple of friends an I recently made a domain price comparison site. Everyone who's viewed it has given great feedback. However, our current issue is that we're having difficulty spreading the word. We're all complete newbies in the marketing front but have been reading various resources and advice.

One major feature we added recently is an affiliate program. The concept sounds like a win-win situation. It's taking a lot of work so we're not sure if it's worth it. We also figured that we'd give a 70% commission to incentives people. Is this too high? Do you find this sort of marketing works?
We're trying to go for a no-bullshit approach, but it's difficult.

Advice and feedback much appreciated.

Here's out site/referral program:

Domain Registration Affiliate

Oh, and of course, if you're interested then feel free to join!

I like your website. But I got lost for a moment.

I think from a user point of view it would be nicer if he could enter his domain name and see the prices across all networks. So you could have just a box on the homepage instead of the chart that says "Enter Your Domain Name To Compare Prices Across The Web" and then sort the results. Charts are scary.

More user engagement = More conversions.

70% commission is sweet. But since the order volumes are quite low (I assume. People usually buy a domain at a time, and the first year is always around 10$ max), I think you need to give out at least 50% to keep the affiliate interested. Just my thought.