The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  Direct Affiliate

Help detecting bots in my campaigns

Bardum

affiliate
Hey everyone,I am new to paid traffic and I wanted to make sure of a few things before starting to blacklist placements:

- If an IP has 1 or 0 views, but a lot of clicks, can I automatically assume it is a bot?
- How soon should I blacklist a placement if it has had no conversions?After how much cost?

So far to detect bots I have made a trap landing page that just has a javascript redirect to my actual landing page: by seeing it's ctr I can know what percentage are real viewers. Is this enough? I am aware there are bots that can read javascript. Can anyone share a more effective method to detect bot traffic? Also, I am getting a lot less clicks in my affiliate network than what Bemob says I have, could this also be because of bot traffic?

I am getting a lot less clicks in my affiliate network than what Bemob says I have

If it's clicks (not conversions), is it unique vs repeat clicks? I mean does your network report only show unique clicks?

Automated clicks or bot clicks are all a part of Click Fraud. It is a writing problem in the world of PPC. Have a look at how much every year is lost to click frauds.

Screenshot-2019-03-15-at-10.16.53-am.png

In late 2018, the FBI arrested an ad fraud network 3ve that used to create malware packages for mimicking mobile and desktop traffic to produce fake clicks on the online advertisements.

But what is the main objective behind this?

A click fraudulent generally has one of the two purposes:

• Sabotaging the competition
  • Generating excess revenue
Also, added to this there are two types of click frauds:

• Manual: Carried out by humans themselves. Almost 1 in every 6 clicks is carried by humans as a fraud clicks.
  • Automated: Done with the help of an automated tools and software bots. 20% click frauds are carried out by bots.