The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  Direct Affiliate

Hello....and a few questions.

GregY

affiliate
Hi, my name is Greg. I am relatively new to IM, but I have set up couple of blogs, including one on mortgages that is making a bit of money from Adsense, sponsored reviews, and the odd affiliate sale.

I am not totally crazy about the idea of maintaining a 5 day a week posting schedule with fresh blog content so I am exploring affiliate marketing. I read Day Job Killer (I am not sure if that is popular around here or not, but anyway I read it).

I opened an Adwords account and I have been direct linking with some success. A product on Shareasale sold for $200 with a 20% commission and the clicks cost less than a dollar. I have had success with Amazon as well.

The direct linking is requiring constant monitoring, because of Google's duplicate URL policy. I am constantly getting bumped and having to adjust my bids. Which leads me to landing pages and a few of my questions:

1) Why are most (all?) landing pages I see a mile long? Is this a proven technique? Do you have some recommendations on where I could learn how to build/write an effective landing page.

2) Is there a best CMS or platform for building landing pages? I am now very comfortable with Wordpress, could this be an effective tool for affiliate marketing (outside of a blog that requires regular babysitting). Tech is my hobby (I am a banker by day), so I don't mind learning HTML/CSS if that is neccessary and I am sure I could pick it up. I just don't want to was a bunch of time heading down a path you know to be ineffective. I would rather spend that time learning to write good copy etc.