The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Easy static website hosting

vincentvega

Hello, this forum has been a great resource for me. I have learnt a lot already. The focus of my background is not affiliate marketing but I would like to share how I am currently hosting my websites while I work on getting them profitable. Technical knowledge is required so this option is not suitable for all.

Starting off, most people don't need to do any server side work for their website. If you can move all your content to static pages you can serve your website without the need of a dedicated server.

Writing individual static pages is not a scalable option without the help of framework which is one of the reasons Wordpress and their templating system is so popular.

I personally use Hugo for their templating system.

It has built in support for:
  • themes and content blocks.
  • style preprocessor languages (scss, less, css)
  • javascript (babel processing)
Once you get your site building and looking good you can host it on any static file host. I use AWS S3.

I then use CloudFlare as my domain nameserver. By adjusting your DNS records you have your desired domain point to your S3 bucket. CloudFlare has a free SSL option that is just as easy as enabling it in your account. All of this and more is included in their free tier.

Be sure to enable caching on CloudFlare, this will make sure that there are a minimum amount of request done to your S3 bucket and keep your costs down.

I have only started working on my affiliate sites, so I have little to no traffic. I host 6 website using this method and my bill has been $0 for the past month. A good way to keep your costs down if you are testing an idea. Once you get profitable and require something more dynamic, you can upgrade to a VPS.

I still keep SSI enabled so I have a simple and clear-cut way to handle simple HTML includes :p I don't need modules ;)
Code: