The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  MyBid

Are Facebook stealing affiliate commissions?

Afish

affiliate
Hi all

Firstly apologies for any silly questions I may ask, I'm quite new to this and finding my feet.

I have a Facebook page with around 4000 likes and have been using it to post Skimlinks generated affiliate links on mother and baby products. About 6 months ago this was quite successful and I had the odd sale here or there. (I say successful as I wasn't posting much so the little I got out was comparable to the little I put in).

Fast forward to today and I've really pumped up my input into the page as I'm on leave from work. I get lots of interaction on my posts and lots of 'link clicks' according to my Skimlinks stats. The problem is I literally get zero sales! I don't understand what has changed?? I've had people comment on the posts saying they've purchased an item through the link but for some reason the sale is not showing in my Skimlinks account.

I have a few questions around this:

When people click on a link in the Facebook app it goes through to the relevant page but on the Facebook web browser. Could Facebook be somehow getting the credit for the sales? Is Facebook now blocking or redirecting my affiliate links?

If this isn't the case then I fear that people view the link in Facebook browser but then come out of Facebook to make the purchase on safari/chrome etc (this is what I do myself!). Would the cookie created in the Facebook app transfer over to a different browser On the same device?

I'm at a loss really as to why I'm no longer getting sales when my click rates are so much higher than 6 months ago.