The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Is a rebate site is a good strategy

jjblond

Starting a new site and just wondering thoughts and comments on whether a rebate site is a good strategy ?

thanks
Jaime

Hi Jaime.

Thanks for starting a new thread with this question. This way others who may be looking for info about starting a rebate site may be helped by this thread as well.

Wanted to copy over my original comment I made that encouraged you to ask the question. Linda Said:

"I don't want to rain on your parade BUT... Are you sure you want to do a rebate site? I'm a pro with years of experience and if someone gave me $100,000 and said here, the money's free, go start a rebate site, I'd tell them no way.

So sorry to burst your bubble but there are a variety of reasons I say this. It you've already committed and started the site, then I'm sorry. If you aren't quite there yet and are open to switching gears, let me know and I'll tell you my reasons and give you feedback in a new thread."

I only have a couple minutes, so will add a few quick points.

:: Special software needed and extra tracking. With the little $ you'd make on this, plus having to pay out commission I just don't think it will be worth all the extra headaches and programming to even get this set up. Multi million dollar companies do it, but they have teams of programmers and money to invest. If you knew what I know about how CJ is set up and how the tracking works you'd see it's an extremely difficult task.

:: Rebate sites have a really bad reputation. Many IMHO are dishonest. You'll be classified as an incentive site (you're giving people $back to entice them to buy) therefore many merchants won't even accept you and rebates are against the TOS in some programs.