The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

How important is passion?

alpacabob

affiliate
I'm just starting up my affiliate business (signed onto networks, got my EIN, started planning some sites, etc.) I have a couple of ideas, but a conflict. I'd love to build a website dedicated to bicycles, bike repair, etc. But to do a half-decent job, I'd be looking at a HUGE project with a lot of visuals- and the crux of this process for me is going to be the web design and the fact that my eight year old stepson is a better artist than me.

On the other hand, I worked in public health for a long time with a rather indigent population. As a result, I know way more than any human should about health insurance. I also know tons about what herbal remedies people use. Both of these could be lucrative markets- and could be more verbally than visually driven (and I'm a fairly good writer).

So what do you guys advise on the conundrum? My thought is to start with something that will make money and I can experiment with and then move on to building the bike website. It may never make money, honestly, but I'd like to do it and do it well anyway- but I don't feel that I have the skillset to do so right now.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Hi alpacabob,

Here are some random thoughts.

You don't have to be an artist to build a site at all. You can get a nice template that works for the site then most of what you want to add is text. You'll get banners from merchants and product pictures of bikes and parts. You could make money from a site like that and I don't think it would be as competitive as the other two.

Both insurance and herbal remedies are pretty competitive. Plus insurance can be really boring to try to write about after awhile. If you picked a niche within the herbal niche just one segment so start with it maybe would not be as competitive.