The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Why would I choose affiliate over adsense or my own product?

Bruce61

affiliate
Hi,

total newb question, but I havent had a straight answer yet.

Basically as you will see from my signature I have a dog walking site. It has clean lines and no advertising. I did not build it to sell affiliate products, but if i can make some money to at least off set hosting costs, it would not hurt.

Can someone please explain very simply what would be most appropriate to my kind of niche site, that may have low visitor numbers. and why I would give up space for a third party when I could instead sell dog products for a local company in that space.

yes i get that affilate would be less hassle, with no hands on or negotiation after putting the link up, but am I likely to get more of a response to an affiliate product than say selling local organic dog food in that space?

If you can help, it would be much appreciated.

Bruce

Well, technically if you are selling dog food for a local company you're really acting as an affiliate for that local company.

I think the answer is diversity. If all of your visitors are local, you may do well with that one vendor and AdSense. But what if you get visitors from other regions, perhaps even other continents? Or what if some of your local visitors don't like that local vendor ot the products that vendor sells? Don't you to also provide options for them? If they don't buy from you, they'll go elsewhere and buy from someone else, so why not offer options?

Hello Bruce,

I think it would be very easy for you to promote dog training ebooks on your website. Most dog owners at one point or another, will look for either a dog training, care or grooming book for their pet.

So just about any kind of ebook that will help them learn more about being a better pet owner or taking better care of their pet is likely to do very well for you.