The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“AdsEmpire”/  Direct Affiliate

When to drop a PPC campaign?

robertcwik

affiliate
Hello,

I'd like to ask how you make a decision on when to drop a PPC campaign. Basically, if I start a PPC campaign and it does not bring any results after, say, 100, 200, or 300 clicks, is it worth to keep it or is it better to kill it before it becomes to expensive? I am quite new to PPC, and any help here will be much appreciated.

Hi Robert,

Great question and I'm not sure I know the answer but hope some of our PPC affiliates will weigh in.

Part of the answer though lies in conversion rates. Sometimes when you are new and don't know yet how the game is played or if you have a merchant that does not convert well, it can take 500 clicks to get your 1st sale.

If you aren't doing your keywords optimally have have lots of info KW as opposed to buy KW you could get lots of clicks with no sales. You also may need to add negative keywords.

Also conversion rates vary depending on the type of product. Average conversion rates are 1 - 2 % for retail type products but for lead based affiliate programs where no credit card is required, conversions can be much higher.

Ask your affiliate manager what average conversion rates are. That will help you gauge better how long to test a campaign.

And remember there are so many variables that can have an effect on PPC conversions - your keywords, your ad copy, your landing page copy, call to action and presell. So you need to test, tweak and measure all those elements.

Then once they click through, the merchant landing page, selling price, site and cart all play a part.