The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

What are the Right Steps to Get in the Top 10 Results?

TheSocial

affiliate
Hi,
I am a newbie in affiliate marketing. I read many topics in this forum which helped me greatly.
Now I am trying to put these tips into practice.
- I created a blog and wrote some articles with proper on-page SEO rules
- Then I chose a keyword that receives about 1,300 global monthly searches via Google Keyword tool
- I searched in Google for the keyword with quotes (exact phrase) and it gives about 9200 results
- Then I picked the 1st result and typed link:The Website URL to know how many backlinks to the 1st result. They are only 4 backlinks.

Am I doing well? is this keyword good to be targeted?
Thanks,

The process you followed is pretty good, except for the back link part. Google does not show you backlinks very often. Many times it only says 4 and there are 400 or even 4000.

I use a variety of tools to ck backlinks and they all show different numbers. But probably the most popular is Majestic SEO : Site Explorer. Check both the fresh index and the historic to get a pretty good picture of what you are up against.

You can also use the Comparator there to analyze the top 5 URLs to give you a good competitive overview.

Hi Linda. I used MajesticSEO to know the exact number of backlinks to the top 10 results on the first page. But I want to know do I need to compete with the primary domain of each website or with the exact page that is listed in the search results?

Example: The First result is www.website.com/page.html
So Do I need to check the backlinks to www.website.com OR to www.website.com/page.html ?

It would be VERY difficult to compete with a website that existed since the year 2000 !
Thanks,

In addition, I see something weird. The 1st result sometimes has only 2000 backlinks while the 2nd has about 53.000 backlinks! they both target the same exact keyword.
How can this happen?