The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“AdsEmpire”/  Direct Affiliate

Newbie here with a few questions

N

NFG

Hi everyone,

My name is Nick, I'm a 20 year old college student. I was introduced to the concept of affiliate marketing recently, even though its been around for probably over a decade now. I found it interesting, especially the potential to be so successful. I'm not trying to make a career out of this, if I can make $1000-$1500/month then I will be able to seriously cut back on the night job or leave it all together for the remaining 1 and a half years I'm in college. I have over 1 month of free time coming up for the Holiday break from school where I have alot of free time to dedicate to getting stuff up and running.

I just had a few questions I hope they arent too noobish. I've been doing alot of reading so I'm really starting to grasp the idea of how to get started.

My main question is this: I understand that many programs want you to already have an established website with good traffic or some similar terms. How am I supposed to have a high traffic website up and running before I'm in a merchant's affiliate program? I thought the process would be more like this(obviously I'm wrong): Join an affiliate program of my choice, build an informational website about selected niche which has articles that will contain merchant's links. Could someone clarify this ?

Example - if I wanted to work in the Automotive niche, should I build an all-around automotive information website FIRST with all topics automotive, drive some traffic to it, AND THEN join an affiliate program(s) and insert merchant links in the appropriate articles/different site pages ?

Second Question: Regarding site traffic: Do I really need to buy advertising such as Google Adwords or are there other free/less expensive ways for beginners with low budgets to get decent traffic ? Whats your advice?