The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“AdsEmpire”/  Direct Affiliate

I'm supposed to be an "Affiliate Manager"

JeremyHFSykes

I am new to the industry and I have tried to understand the definitions and usages of certain words but I have had quite a few problems with one... the ONE that IS my job! AFFILIATE This is the short version: My company has been doing work for years with (and has about 500) E-MAIL BASED "publishers." It seems that a lot people call them "affiliates." I was hired specifically to to create a "true" affiliate network of similar size. I was taught that a "true" affiliate means that the person drives traffic via host/post, forums, blogs, web pages, banners, etc. THOSE are the people that I am trying to find. All I seem to be finding are what I consider to be publishers (e-mail specific.) I have found an occasional phone pusher and software seller as well. I have not found the host/post, forum, blog, web page, banner people. Is there something I am missing? I have been doing this about a month and really have not made any headway (I have had some very nice phone calls with some very nice people.) I am on the computer from 7 am to 12:00 -2:00 every night. I am about 5 forums plus Facebook, a TON on LinkedIn, organic searches, everything! I'm getting a little bummed. I am not gonna make a DIME! I don't need the $20,000 a month, I need the $20.00 a month to start!!! :(

Hi Jeremy,

What you are looking for is what I call web-based affiliates (as opposed to email affiliates.) Almost everyone here is web-based. We have very few email affiliates. Many web-based affiliates have mailing lists but it isn't usually their only marketing tactic. Now if you are going after the ebook/get-rich-quick type people or recruiting on those types of forums, you'll get a higher percentage of affiliates that are marketing mainly to their 'list."