The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Difference between first party and third party cookies

sarahw1979

affiliate
Hi everyone,

I am reading that the end of third party cookies is coming. I'm new to affiliate marketing so don't really understand the impact of this. If I sign up to affiliate programms to be given affiliate links that I will post on my own website, will I still be able to receive commissions in the future? I am not sure if this uses first party or third party cookies. Thanks for any info in advance.

The cookie an offer owner [affiliate program] uses should be a *first party cookie*.
10% to 40% of cookies do not work right --there will be some 'slippage loss' because cookies are being used.

I tested a 15% loss on an adult cams affiliate site I had in 2007. The repeat sales were based on a 14 day expiring cookie.
I set my own cookie, the checked for it on returning users, 15% of the time that cookie was gone.
Today, 15+ years later, the loss would be higher (by projection of the current state).

• First time referrals will 'usually' accept a cookie as at the least; session only.
  • If they buy or make some other CPA action on their first referral;
    • If the transaction is cookie dependent;
    • you should get paid
The fallacy of a return cookie is 50% hype. Cookies can be rejected, accepted session only, or deleted by the browser user setting --at the browser user's discretion --that is a fact. Sometimes the return cookie *works* as specified but sometimes it will be gone.

A first party cookie is one that is set by the same domain.

Third party cookies examples are; google-analytics cookies, Facebook pixel cookies, ad network cookies from the publisher site, these are cross-domain. There are workarounds under development or being used.

HTML:
Set-Cookie: <cookie-name>=<cookie-value>
Set-Cookie: <cookie-name>=<cookie-value>; Domain=<domain-value>