The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“AdsEmpire”/  Direct Affiliate

Where to start with blogging?

sallysqueak

affiliate
Hi everyone

I'm new here, and new to blogging really, but I'm at a bit of a loss at the moment.

I currently do other forms of affiliate marketing, mainly lead generation using my own websites and ppc advertising, but it's very slow. Especially on a limited budget to get going.

I was having a look on here and it seems most of you recommend getting involved in a niche market rather than going for the sort of thing i'm already doing. So i'm thinking what the heck I might as well try (and possibly fail!) at this too.

I have a couple of questions. As a complete newbie to blogging, please can someone help me with these;

1. What is considered a good niche to choose? The one I am thinking of (and the hobby I am most passionate about) is a particular breed of dog. This breed is one of the less popular breeds, but those who have them or want them tend to want nothing else and love all stuff to do with them. I am a member of a couple of forums so I think I could get the blog going initially by giving it a mention in there, but when I look at the google keyword tool, the basic search term for the breed is only 40,500 local monthly searches and 368,000 global searches per month. Is this too low? Competition it says is 'low'. A search on google for the breed brings up virtually no adsense ads, but I suppose I could probably get some pet food or dog insurance ads showing on there instead or something?

2. Which blogging software should I choose if I do this? I'd ideally like to be able to have the option of adding both adsense ads and banners from affiliate networks if I choose to. I'd like the software to be free for me to use and preferably able to be intergrated into a website in the future, but standalone for now. What's best for this please?