The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“AdsEmpire”/  Direct Affiliate

Types of Affiliates

pepo

Dear Linda,

Thank you for this forum and for the opportunity to ask a question!

I am an affiliate program manager of an online niche gift shop. I have a question that I would appreciate your advice on. It may seem a bit of a long question, but I do feel that it comes up to a single question :) I feel that it may be of interest to other affiliate managers too. My question has to do with "Affiliate Types" and with affiliates several applications that I received recently through one of the networks.

Recently we have applied to one of the affiliate networks, and have our affiliate program listed there. Since then, we received, very quickly, several affiliate applications. I checked the affiliates' websites, and I think that I can divide the websites/affiliates into these groups:

1. Sites that present a collection of banners and links, with little or no original content.
2. Coupon sites - focusing on sales promotion.
3. Rebate sites - focusing, as well, on sale promotions.
4. Shopping and comparison search engines, using a combination of a web crawler, artificial intelligence techniques, and a data extraction algorithm to seek out product information from online retailers.

What should be my attitude toward applications of such websites? Here are my thoughts and questions:

1 - My feeling that it would be better to reject these applications.
2 - I am not sure what should be my attitude toward coupon site. First, our site does not offer any coupons, so it puts in a question mark our compatibility with these sites, right? Anyway, adding coupons to our marketing plan can be something to think about... How do you feel about coupon affiliate partners? What is their effectiveness? How would you categorize them with relevance to the "Affiliate Types" described on your book'?