The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“AdsEmpire”/  Direct Affiliate

Questions about Affiliate management

Shoda

OK, I read through lots of the management posts, read through the report "launching and relaunching an affiliate program" and I have questions. Many, many questions.

- Are reports worth signing up for? I saw two reports available on industry stats. I'm trying to define some benchmarks and timelines, and industry stats aren't widely available. I'm looking for extremely general numbers too, realizing that specifics will depend on too many factors. Are there industry stats available elsewhere?

- When I was a sales manager, I would know if a program was working or not in about 2-3 weeks. Not that I'd cancel a campaign, but I would definitely change it on a promotional level. Is that too soon to change a promotion for affiliates? What's their turn around time once they've signed up for a campaign?

- How long is an average affiliate campaign? a year? is that reasonable?

- I'm down with creating technology, we're a development team so it's gravy. There's talk of widgets and software and feeds and blogs. Are those used primarily as enhancements to an affiliate campaign to assist them in ther marketing? Like a weather widget for example - OR are they used as a tool for affiliates to track sales, communicate new promotions - OR would you do both?

- I know some stuff about conversion, (I've done PPC campaigns and other search marketing like banner management), I have all the tools to hit the ground running - planning a launch about a month after official startup - how long would someone with a fair bit affiliate management experience (not me of course. ;)) expect to wait before seeing some preliminary results? I'm back to the question of best case scenario/worst case scenario for someone that's been there. I can adjust the benchmarks based on my own experience.