The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Inexperienced Merchant, in need of advice.

davefish

affiliate
Hi everyone, my name's Dave and I've signed up here as it seems to be a really thriving community and I could do with some help/advice.

I am building a site to sell a PDF download and access to an online tool (both of which are my own products). The problem I face is that I don't have money to launch a marketing campaign, hire a sales person etc... so my plan is to incentivise other website owners to promote my page and pay a 50% commission per download. I'm sure this isn't a new concept to you guys but I have no prior experience.

As part of my sites design/development, I am building in a custom affiliate program (member sign in, monitor revenue etc..). I have no problem with this from a technical point of view but my BIG issue is I just don't know how to attract other site owners and getting them to push my product.

So my question is…What inexpensive methods can I use to tell people about this revenue generating opportunity and get them to sign up and start sending traffic to me? I am looking to target experienced affiliate people who have an existing/attentive audience etc.. rather than "Joe Blogs" who will put a banner on his site that nobody sees.

Thank you
Dave

PS. I hope this thread hasn't come across as an "advert". I know forums can be used as a tool for free promotion, hence why I've not put in any specifics. I am not looking to promote anything, I am relatively clueless and genuinely in need of guidance.

Hi Dave,

Thanks for joining and asking some good questions. We're happy to try to help. Please see our merchant and affiliate manager forum for lots of good answers to your questions. I'm moving this post there too.