The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

A naive n00b question(s)

lemaudit63

affiliate
I know I can get a lot of the granular answers to technical questions here and on other forums, but I have some n00b questions that are weighing on me and are a bit more philosophical. I've been building sites for several years now, but never with the intention of making money from them. I now have a photo site for my wife (a professional photographer) and a couple fun political social blogs and sites for myself. And I am starting to look into product sites with reviews and recommendations. So here are my questions (and I apologize in advance for my naivete):

1. Is it possible to make a decent income (5-10k/month) with an ethical, informative site and affiliate links?

2. Is there any benefit and more importantly danger in cloaking links with a product like get-shorty? I'm not talking about three pages of just links. I'm talking a two - three paragraph article with an affiliate link to the site discussed.

3.Can you recover from a stupid mistake, ie if I realized a redesign in a month could I improve my rank and hits?

4. Am I naive or correct in thinking that while black hat BS can make a lot of money, sustainable and lasting sites are ethical and white/grey hat.

5. How do I avoid making google mad?

I know these are probably eye rollers, but that's why I signed up. And I enjoy being flogged

Hi lemaudit63,

Your questions are really good ones and you won't get "flogged" here. However it's best to ask 1 or 2 related Qs in different posts. When you write this many random Qs in one post people tend to feel overwhelmed and shy away from answering. I don't have time to answer them all but I will attempt a couple.

1) Yes but could take 2-3 years for the 'average' affiliate. Work hard and get lucky and it could happen sooner.