The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Transfer Page Rank

smudgeit

affiliate
Is it possible to just do a 301 redirect from my old site to transfer page rank to new?

Some one said that it has the opposite effect. i.e the old site gains the new sites page rank. Which would drop it to 0

Anyone had experience in this?

I think whoever said the revers happens with 301 redirect is wrong. When you do a 301 redirect correctly, the old site does not exist any longer for example this forum used to be at this url: Webmaster Forums - SEO SEM Web Hosting Web Design & Development Discussions and it was transferred here using 301 redirect, withing about 1 week, all the SERP results were change is major search engines to point to the new url and I am expecting the old PR to tranfer here at the next update.

Well, I have no experience with that, but I saw that it works. iwebtool foruma was reachable at iwebtool.com/talk when I registered there. After some time the faciliator decidet to run it as a sub level domain and redirected the site to talk.iwebtool.com. During the last PR update the new sld gained the old PR6;)

In theory the PR5 should carry over to your new domain provided the links that give that domain PR5 in the first place are still pointing to it.

Cool so will do a mod_rewite on all 404's anyone know the best way to to do this?

I don't want any 404s so can point any url at box and a rewrite will display a file

OOh it is not as simple as that (gaining the old sites PR that is). PR is also gained from internal links, so if the old site had 20,000 internal pages many of them with backlinks, then unless you can snag those backlinks you are going to lose the link juice. Also Google is zeroing expired domains that change hands and change Ip's & Content. so you might have bought a pig in a poke.