The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  Direct Affiliate

Start an affiliate program - Build Own Tracking or Buy Affiliate Software

dc dalton

affiliate
OK, I am COMPLETELY new to this! We want to start an affiliate program for one of our sites. We have everything 'squared away' but there is a question that keeps popping up.

Do most sites have their own affiliate tracking software?

This is no big deal as we could build it in a few days but we kept thinking "How do people know they can trust our tracking software". Not that we have ANY intention of messing around but things being as they are on the internet these days I have to think most people are skeptical.

When I think about it I have a ton of affiliate things I use on different sites and me, being the trusting soul I am, never really thought about it before. Now that I am thinking of becoming the 'merchant' the thought pops up?

Any help, advise or words of wisdom would be very much appreciated!

Hi dc dalton,

You are right about the trust issue. Most affiliates that have been around have been burned, sometimes even by honest, well meaning merchants, that just didn't set tracking up right.

PLUS you could never design your own tracking solution that would work as well as the programs that have been out there for years, tested by thousands of affiliates and improved over time. Additionally smart affiliates value their time. If they have to log into a program that has a different layout, interface and options and learn every merchants individual program it would be a major pain.

So I strongly recommend buying off the shelf software or better yet join a network and let them handle everything for you .

I've heard good reports about idevaffiliate, postaffiliatepro and groundbreak.
I think they are all very low cost too. I could not tell you which is the best though.

If you want more affiliates then joining a network is an even better option IMHO.