The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “RollerAds”/

Programming tools : your favorites?

D

dman_2007

Everyone has their own favorites, but it would be interesting to see who likes what and the reason why they like. Also, list what platform you prefer and use, what alternatives you tried and why you didn't liked them. I'll start it off :

I've been using linux as my development platform for about two years now. I also like freebsd. I like using them because they are secure, open source and very flexible with lots of open source applications. As far as programming tools are concerned, i prefer to use kate. A kde based text editor, with no fancy features such as function autocomplete or code intelligence. I like because it is simple and helps me get the job done without getting too much into my way. Sometimes i also use quanta plus (kde based web development environment), but not much of the time.

Tools which i tried previously and didn't like are eclipse (too slow), activestate komodo ide (too expensive) and kdevelop (tries to be everything for everyone, very complex).

Bagi,

I was considering doing a Dreamweaver Course @ Salisbury College UK. As at the moment I have the complete package and I have not even atempted doing work with it yet.

i would like to encourage you to participate in that course, but you may execute its tutorial as well. They have quite a good support community at the adobe website.:)

Really, what about when you need to non-web related development work. For example, when you need to develop a program in Java or maybe C.

I don't have any non web based project. I'm not a coder or anything, simply a hobby time webmaster who is very happy with the DW:dance2: