The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Just starting out: help needed how to get started...

Franklin Jones

affiliate
Hi all,

This is my first post as I've just started out and signed up for this forum. Therefore I really don't know if this should be an introduction, journey/follow or newbie helpdesk thread...
English is not my first language so excuse me for a grammar error or two ;-).

Like I've said: I just started out trying to get up and running with Moblile affiliate marketing. Read some info on the web and I'm in the process of testing (read: baby steps).

I have no experience with all of this whatsoever, except some niche sites and trying to monetize them with AdSense and affiliate links. My experience is that organic traffic needs way too much manual work and I don't like to be a ball bounced around algorithm updates :p.

What I've done so far (no need to be secretive about it as I don't make profits yet):

Applied for aff. network (AdSimilis)
Applied for mobile traffic source (Startapp)
Signed up for free tracker (AdsBridge)

Started my first campaign:

Offer: Android app install
Payout: $1
Direct Linking
Text Ads

Why direct link? Because it was the most easy way to start. Tried a LP after a day but DL seemed to convert better.

Why text ads? Traffic source showed them more often than the banner creatives and seemed to convert better than the banner images.

Results day one (14-7):

image.png

So... The good news: conversions! The bad: negative ROI -65,4%
Learnings: text ads performed better. Decided to pause banners for the next day.

Results day two (15-7):

image.png

So... The good news: still conversions and ROI increased to -33,5%. Checked placements (app-ID's) and cut app that take relatively more clicks but no conversions. Made another version of a text ad. Tried a LP (just one conversion so decided to go with DL).

Results day three (16-7):

image.png