The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

How I test a product/niche/market

Clintoc

Bright New Star Award - June 09
Ok, I am a newbie marketer myself so take anything I say with a grain of salt. But let it be known that I have taken and devoured a ton of information (from this site and others) and have added genuine testing to the equation and have come up with a general game plan to test a campaign.

To save time I will quote what I mentioned about this in another thread.

When you are testing a niche for sales and marketability I would advise that you take it easy on the website to start. By all means you can put in a ton of effort to build a website, but I would hate to spend a ton of time working on a site just to find out the best I can do is get adsense income (I have one of these sites myself).

Depending on your product/offer you may consider buying a cheap domain to redirect to the merchant, GoDaddy has .info domains for cheap and they work well for testing the market ($0.99 a year).

I have been testing a niche with a few articles lately and I did have a lot of ideas for it, including a primary product to build it around. I simply started with a few squidoo lenses and wrote nine articles. I get plenty of traffic to the merchant for testing (20-30 a day..) and have had NO sales.

Using this example I am getting an average of 2-4 clicks a day per article, so obviously I am hitting some hot buttons and writing properly to this niche (CTR on the articles is 25-50%). This could mean a few things. I am leaning towards the bad product line of things, but it could as easily be that I am targeting information keywords (I know a couple of the lenses and articles probably are).