The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Designing and choosing ads for my website(s) & spending choices

Delyte

affiliate
So I'm currently very new to the internet marketing business, but I'm very interested, eager to learn, and most importantly, I am fortunate enough to have some time to learn. I recently finished getting my education in computer science, so I'm a fairly well-versed programmer at this point, but I'm interested in non-traditional employment, and the high ceiling on potential pay for internet marketing for creative/clever types seems like a good fit for me.

Anyways, I'm currently working on learning Ruby on Rails. I can't imagine it taking me longer than a week to get a solid website up, as Ruby on Rails is built for quick building websites with many features (Twitter, Hulu, Airbnb, indiegogo, kickstarter, etc are built with Rails). I know the standard, especially for newcomers, is to just slap together wordpress-style landing pages, but I figure with a little extra work, making things pretty and whatnot, ads should convert better, right? Or is that not necessarily true? I'm not sure how much effort it really requires to get good conversions, but with Ruby on Rails' style, aside from the learning time, making attractive websites with Rails shouldn't take more than a day or two, at least websites made primarily ad revenue. Additionally, automating (or at least making easy) the maintenance of these websites would probably help a lot to direct my time towards productive means.