The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  Direct Affiliate

Very low open rate?

germanleadseller

affiliate
I'm facing problems with a few campaigns.
The open rate is very low. Like below 0,01 percent. 5000 emails sent, 2 views. I'm trying to find the error but I can't. I'm using different purchased optin email lists from the US. And also different software and mail servers.

There may be optin lists with 2% or 5% open rate, but 0,01% is very low.

What's the reason?

The issue is likely that you are using purchased lists that are worn out and going straight to spam folders. You are not using your own opt-in lists. Purchased lists are typically junk.

I have been monetizing purchased data for over 16 years.

When buying data, you should always get a random sample and test it. That way you will get an idea of the quality and how long it will likely take you to get to break-even. Based on the results of your test, you can negotiate the price if necessary. However, for the test to be valid, you have to be getting acceptable deliverabilty VS your sending cost.

The only exception is when buying aged data and your getting massive volume at a super low price. However, you don't want to do this either, unless you have the tools to do all the basic cleaning and bounce removal yourself.

With a 0.0004 open rate, clearly you have a deliverqability problem.

How are you sending the data?
Do you know the breakdown of the domains in the list?
Are you seeding to check deliverability?
Did you have it cleaned by an email hygiene company?
How old is it?
Is it targeted?

Last edited:
yes, this was my first thought too. But even if the list is used often or even "misused" an open rate below 0,01% is not possible or very unusual.