The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  MyBid

Tracking: What should I track besides KW and Ad CTR?

schleprock

I have been dabbling in affiliate marketing for about 2 months now. I don't really know what I am doing.
What reports on Google and Bing do I really need to run?

Most days I spend money and don't make any. Today I spent about 11 bucks and made 96 dollars. What this means to me is, I am finally profitable. I should keep going. Great. Now I need to know why I made money.

I need to know what tracking information from the search engines is important to look at. I do know to get rid of dead beat KWs and to disable low CTR ads but after that I am lost.

I also use ClickMagic so I have some tracking there but I don't really know what to do with it either. I applied all the tokens from both Bing and Google but they don't seem to show up in any ClickMagic reports. All I know how to do is to look at fake clicks (which seem very minimal in my Bing and Google campaigns).

* Why did I need to add all the tokens, if Bing and Google already gather that information for me?
* I use LongTailPro to find me really targeted KWs. So I don't think I should be trimming any of those KWs but I don't know that for sure

Anyway, where can I get a good overview of what I should be tracking. A best practices article or something. I don't know what I am doing. Something that will show me important metrics in general and allow me to get a framework in my head that I can use to think about tracking other variables that are important to my specific campaigns.

Also, I have a horrible gateway page. (My ads feed to a blog post and from there the visitor clicks through to the Clickbank offeror's LP, I think that makes mine a gateway?)
I made this 3 days ago and started advertising:
http://ragingalcoholic.com/stop-panic-attack/

To make matters worse I use the same gateway to send my Remarkets from Bing back to.