The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

To Move my Blog, or not to Move

Marama

affiliate
I'm a bit of a newbie to Affiliate Marketing. After reading up on a huge number of topics over the last several months, my wife and I decided to test the AM waters. We have a rough division of labor. She does most of the SEO related stuff, particularly using social bookmarking tools and the like, and I do the writing, and promote the blog on related sites. We then teach each other what we've learned, reviewing our progress together.

To start with, we decided to create a blog, then to drive traffic to the blog. This was to teach us how to use blogging tools, SEO practices, and metrics tools. We figured it would be best to write a blog about something that's easy for me to create a lot of content for, to ensure a steady stream of updates. We decided to start monetizing the blog after getting up a little content and getting some traffic.

I didn't chose my topic to make money. The only criteria was to have something I could produce a volume of good quality content for so that we wouldn't run dry while using the blog as a sandbox for learning the tools we'll need to promote our next site. We did not want to pay for hosting for a blog which we figured would simply be drowned in a sea of sites on the same topic, which is an online game.

The site has been up for three weeks and two days. So far, we've done the following to promote the site:

• Set up two Squidoo lenses, one for the site in general and one for promoting a specific product.
  • Concentrated on producing quality free content in the form of guides for the game on a variety of topics.
  • Made sure to incorporate strong long tail keywords in topic titles.
  • Posted on two high traffic forums for the game, including posts directing people to a guide, as well as helping people with questions in general. The blog address is, of course, in the footer of the posts.