The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  MyBid

Newbie question about 'HubPages' website?

katie1988

affiliate
Hello everyone :)

I wonder if any of the more experienced affiliates can help me....?

I'm new to affiiate marketing & so wrote an article a few months back & just put it up on Hubpages with a few relating Amazon links at the bottom of the article. I forgot about it for a while & when i went back to it i realised that my article had recieved just over 17,000 views & was on pg1 of google (when the appropriate subject was typed in google toolbar)
According to amazon i haven't made a penny, so i was wondering how much traffic on average do you need to start making money from an article?

Also, when i looked at my own article on HubPages from google, i noticed a big advert in my article which i didn't put there, trying to sell stuff relating to my article. Is this the norm on HubPages?

Apologies if i'm sounding thick but i am a complete newbie to all of this! Any advice generally on the above would be great. Thank you :)

Hi and welcome!

I've been a hubber since 2008, I think, and was also a volunteer in two of their weekly programs, so I can help you with that.

"my article had received just over 17,000 views & was on pg1 of google"

Yup, HP articles get indexed almost immediately. It's great for that. Up until all the shake up with the Google algo changes, hubs went online instantly when you hit the publish button. Ahh, the good old days. Now, they have to go through an approval process. :(

"According to amazon i haven't made a penny, so i was wondering how much traffic on average do you need to start making money from an article?"