The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  MyBid

New to owning a forum

BomMi69

affiliate
I own co-own a forum that is hosted by Blue Host and run on phpBB.

My knowledge of both is very limited but I am trying to gain more knowledge on how things run technically. The little things I feel I should know is how to update sucessfully, how to add things to the forum (smiley packs), I don't even know much about zip files?! Apologies if my knowledge is extremely lacking on even the most basic of things but I am very new to this. (Apologies also if these questions have been asked before.)

We are also considering a move to vBulletin, once our initial year is up with phpBB. We are trying to offer as much as we can to our members but find ourselves limited with our current host.

We also advertise on Google but it doesn't seem to generate a lot of interest, I'm assuming it's because other websites come up first when our site is searched for. Does anyone have any advice to offer on better advertising and on the amount of ££/$$ we should be expecting to pay for good advertising.

I realise this is a lot to ask in one go, but I am trying to get as much information as possible, so as to improve the forum for our current and future members.

Oh and a lot of the technical terms used for forum hosting are beyond me, is there somewhere to look on this forum that can enlighten me on those?

Thanks in advance.

What niche is your forum? I may be able to help, please PM your forum url to me and I will see how I may be able to help.
I have lots of experience with forums :)

Thanks Temi. I run a forum for Army Spouses if that's what you mean by niche. Wow I feel so clueless with this.:eek:

PM on the way.

Google is a hard ground to advertise in now, We stop advertising with them a long time ago. We were not generating any lead from them. Facebook might be a place to try.