The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Adavice”/  “1Win

Help with Satellite affiliate programs for total newbie

Lauren1026

Hi all,
I'm a grad student looking to earn a little extra money while in school. I've heard that satellite affiliate programs can be very lucrative, so I've been doing a great deal of research on them. I've made myself read the terms and conditions of about a dozen companies, and now I am totally overwhelmed with all the information I gathered-- I just can't decide which company would be best to go with. Some offer bigger payouts but their cookies don't last as long, while some pay small but track for 999 days; some have a 6 month chargeback period while some are only 30 days, etc etc.
I'm hoping that someone can help me decide which company (if any) to go with. Which are the most important things to look at?
Also, in reality, is it a good decision for a grad student to take on an affiliate marketing project? I'm very motivated to make money, but I have very little marketing experience. However, I consider myself creative and eager to learn. Do you have to have tons of experience to be successful at this?
Can anyone provide some insight?
Also, I notice that Revenue Allies allows you to market both Direct TV AND Dish Network-- I would love to understand how this works. Would you promote both companies one 1 website?? AH! I'm just so overwhelmed!

Thanks for reading. Any information is GREATLY appreciated. I don't expect you to answer all of my questions-- help with anything would be wonderful!
-- Lauren

Hi Lauren,

Sorry I could not answer this in private and thanks for posting in public so your situation and our answers may be able to help others.

(Note to others, due to carpal tunnel I don't give one-on-one private advice.