The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“Propeller”/  Direct Affiliate

Creating a new software affilate program - seeking opinions

S

SunnyMike

Hi everyone. I am a software developer in a small company. We have a downloadable product and website live and ready, and want to start an affiliate program to get our product out there into the public eye. I would like to outline the basics of our proposed affiliate program (without identifying the product or ourselves as I don’t want to break any forum rules or appear to be advertising) and get feedback from seasoned affiliates on whether you think it’s a good idea; whether it would appeal to you; what pro’s and con’s do you see; etc.. This is the first time I’ve stepped into the world of affiliate marketing. I’ve done some research, but I know the people in this forum will know way more than I do about it. The details are:

· Affiliates advertise the software on their website, or to their audience via their blogs or email lists.
· The software operates on an annual subscription model. It can be single or multi-user. It starts from around $120 per annum for a single user up to around $1,000 per annum for 15 users. Customers can also pay for more than 15 users if they wish.
· Affiliate commission is paid per customer subscription as follows:
- First 100 subscriptions (1-100): 20% of subscription fee
- Next 100 subscriptions (101-200): 30% of subscription fee
- Subscriptions beyond that (201+): 40% of subscription fee
· The commission will be residual for an additional four years after the first sign-up by a customer, which means that as long as the customer continues to re-subscribe each year, the affiliate will continue to receive 20-40% of each annual subscription fee up to a total of five annual subscriptions by the customer.

· Customers will pay on our website via PayPal.
· Affiliates get paid via PayPal.